• FC #2 – "o" and "i"

    "O" et "i" are versatile words, critical elements to the structures that are the very essence of Linal's syntax.

    O introduces all sorts of direct objects and plays a part in the total absence of the subjunctive mood in linal.

    Direct object

    The government votes the law – the government votes o the law.
    I see you – I see o you.

    Possessive phrase derived from a direct object

    The construction of the building was very long – the construction o the building was very long.

    Noun clauses

    Here, "o" can sort of be replaced by the question "what?".

    I hope you are happy – I hope o you are happy.
    I would like them to come tomorrow – I want o they will come tomorrow.
    I wish I was dead – 
    I want o I am dead / I want o be dead.
    I said I would not come tomorrow – I said o I will not come tomorrow (no tense concordance).

    Indirect object

    Linal has no indirect-only transitive verbs. A transitive verb is either direct, either both direct AND indirect. Therefore:

    You are talking to me – you talk o me.
    It depends on many things –
    many things condition o this / it depends because of many things.

    I introduces further information about what comes before it. It therefore stands before relative clauses, noun modifiers, etc.

    Attributive adjectives

    The tall man – the man i tall.
    The strong, fierce shark – the shark i strong and fierce.

    Possessive clauses

    Luke's dog – the dog i (of) Luke

    Noun modifiers

    Shoe shop – shop i shoes.
    Maple syrup – syrup i maple.
    Chanel shoes – shoes i Chanel.
    The 2-hour long race – the race i (lasts) 2 hours.

    "Who / that / which" (subject relative)

    The man who is eating an apple – the man i eats o an apple.

    "Whom / that / which" (direct object relative)

    The ball (which) I see overthere – the ball i I see overthere.
    The experts (that) we are – the experts i us / we i experts.

    Preposition + "what" / "whom" and similar phrases

    The man with whom I am going to the cinema / the man I am going to the cinema with – the man i I go to the cinema with him.
    The thing about which I complained / the thing I complained about – this i I complained about it.

    "Whose"

    The man whose sister I love – the man i I love o his sister.

    "Where" / "when"

    The place (where) I'm going this afternoon – the place i I'm going this afternoon.
    The year (when) I got my PhD – the year i I got o my PhD.

    The [noun] that + clause / [subject] Ving

    The fact that he refused to sign annoyed me / his refusing to sign annoyed me – this i he refused to sign annoyed me.

    Exercise

    How would you say…

    Have you read the book I told you about?
    I am begging you to do me this favour.
    I hope you went where I advised you to.
    She would like you to come with us to the cinema you often go to.

    *****

    Feel free to comment and share your impressions and ideas about what has been explained in this article. Linal is still under construction and may evolve based on your comments. What I left between brackets in the "translations" either remains to be decided or is optional.


  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: